Celebrating the 2019 Mark A. Wallace Catalyst Leadership Award Winners

In honor of Mark A. Wallace's 20th anniversary as president and CEO, members of Texas Children's Board of Trustees made personal donations to an endowed fund that led to the establishment of the Mark A. Wallace Catalyst Leadership Award.

Every year, the program honors outstanding individuals who lead by example, make the biggest possible difference, ensure the best possible outcomes and uphold Texas Children's mission and Core Values.

Ramon Enad, R.N.

Assistant Director
Perioperative Services
Texas Children’s Hospital
The Woodlands
Ramon is a leader whose work ethic and professionalism inspire his colleagues to pursue excellence in everything they do. He passionately advocates for patients and families, putting their needs at the forefront to achieve the best possible outcomes.

Eager to take on new challenges, Ramon has been instrumental in the success of Perioperative Services at both The Woodlands and West Campus hospitals. He encourages teamwork and is always willing to get in the trenches alongside his staff. Ramon leads with compassion, integrity and positivity.

My Definition of Leadership

A person who leads and guides, a person who inspires others and sets a good example to others. One who influences and motivates others to take action toward achieving a common goal, and one who always maintains a positive “can do” attitude and also maintains high standards of honesty and integrity. Treats everyone with respect and dignity.

2019 Catalyst Leaders

Bob Dragos

Sr. Facilities/Operations Project Manager

Texas Children’s Pediatrics and Urgent Care

Wes Moulden

Manager, Children's Sleep Program


Afsheen Davis

Assistant Vice President

Formerly Director of Legal

Lisa Hollier, M.D.

Chief Medical Officer

Texas Children's Health Plan

Please join me in congratulating these deserving individuals for their proven ability to lead by example and for their passion to uphold Texas Children's mission.

mark a. wallace
president & ceo
Mark A. Wallace Leadership Maxims


We work side by side to care for our patients and each other. Driven by our shared values, we apply our infinite passion every day to accelerate health care.


Our compassion starts with an individual spark and ignites in unison. We depend on our team having arm-in-arm devotion to a mission bigger than any one of us. Up and down, side to side, outward and inward, we move collectively to share in all we do. As individuals, we're among the brightest, but as a team, we illuminate unimagined possibilities for ourselves,our patients, and health care as a whole. We are unified, inspirational, and inviting.


What defines us is seizing the opportunity to be first in line. At every level, we inspire each other, bettering ourselves, bettering our teammates, bettering our organization, and ultimately, bettering the world. A single, small act of leadership creates a tidal wave of progress and momentum that grows immensely, improving exponentially, and advancing the care of our patients in a mighty way. We are courageous, forward-thinking, and responsible.


Here, service comes before self. We care and sacrifice, celebrate, and - sometimes - grieve for our patients. Beyond them, our team becomes an extension of our own family. We work with and for each other to create a collective atmosphere of warmth. And while it may seem difficult, somehow it comes effortlessly and naturally - awakened and enhanced in the moments of greatest need. We are warm, authentic, and selfless.


With freedom comes opportunity. Boundless, wide open and unknown, it can be daunting to some, but we recognize the potential in the unexplored and venture forward blazing our own trail in the name of care.

Catalyst Leader Alumni


Maria Happe, MSN, RN

Catalyst Leader of the Year

Manju Monga, M.D.

Julie McGuire, MSN, RN

Carolyn Cohen

Kimberly Troupe


Amanda Austin Ward

Catalyst Leader of the Year

Mari Trace

Dan Christopher

Judith Campbell, M.D.

Ashley Simms


Mark Farrior, M.D.

Catalyst Leader of the Year

Jamie Kim

Preanka Desai

Shannon Holland

Melissa Murrah



Trent Johnson

Catalyst Leader of the Year

Jeanine Graf, M.D.

Jenn Jacome

Wayne Toote

Ketrese White


Oluyinka Olutoye, M.D.

Catalyst Leader of the Year

Sarah Maytum

Sara Montenegro

alma sanchez

Betty Sapinsky


Gail Parazynski

Catalyst Leader of the Year

Laura Hardy

Chanti Jackson

Lesli Rossler

Mark A. Ward, M.D.



Tracey Cotton

Catalyst Leader of the Year

Ryan Breaux

Tangula Taylor